Hunter/Phantom 150 Rear Drum to Disc Conversion

12 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Ok folks so from the get go my rear drum was out of round and if I adjusted to were it worked it dragged so I put up with it for a couple years then I saw some color matched wheels for $99. so I figured that would get me a round drum. Nope still darn near the same darn next to worthless. 

So I've been considering for a couple years to do the homework and convert to rear disc.

So first i tried to source the correct wheel, this is from a Bintelli Havoc and looks much nicer than the standard GY half casting.

It came in matt black paint so I sourced some more Wheel paint and added a couple more coats.

The disc is the oversize and you have to change mounting bracket that are included.

The upgrade deserved a new Michelin, i absolutely love these tires, and this new tire is marked as made in Serbia..

IMG_1509.jpg

IMG_1526.jpg

This oversize disc is actually bigger than the rear disc on my CBR100RR. pert much Poser size.

IMG_1524.jpg

Edited by pistonguy
2 people like this

Posted

So of the choice I opted for the poser chrome swing arm.

The spacers welded to the swing arm are longer so you will have to source two  longer bolts that attach the swing arm to engine.

IMG_1554.jpg

IMG_1555.jpg

Easy to source the master cylinder and caliper from Partsforscooters..

I had the Stainless braided hose made locally.

83" custom made with the color matched and under $30.

IMG_1543.jpg

2 people like this

Posted

And while is was there I found some busted plastic so I opted for Genuine 100% Guaranteed poser Fake Carbon Fiber.

IMG_1556.jpg

1 person likes this

Posted

Looking good, you know though, bling won't get you home, if in doubt black it out hahahaha

1 person likes this

Posted

Yeah my new 13" wheel is also dragging on the rear drum brake pads  --  I wonder if the axle is out of alignment?